Let’s turn … three?



The New York Mets have turned 11 triple plays in franchise history. The first was on May 30, 1962 in the second game of a doubleheader vs. the Los Angeles Dodgers at the Polo Grounds and the most recent was on August 24, 2014, again, vs. the Dodgers at Chavez Ravine. Below is the complete list in chronological order.

May 30, 1962 vs. Los Angeles Dodgers
Elio Chacon (SS) to Felix Mantilla (2B) to Gil Hodges (11B)
Batter: Willie Davis

May 31, 1964 vs. San Francisco Giants 
Roy McMillan (SS) to Ed Kranepool (1B)
Batter: Orlando Cepeda

April 15, 1965 vs. Houston Colt 45s
Johnny Lewis (RF) to Chris Cannizzaro (C) to Roy McMillan (SS)
Batter: Jimmy Wynn

September 28, 1966 vs. Chicago Cubs 
Ed Bressoud (3B) to Chuck Hiller (2B) to Jim Hickman (1B)
Batter: Joe Amalfitano

August 3, 1982 at Chicago Cubs
Bob Bailor (SS) to Wally Backman (2B) to Dave Kingman (1B)
Batter: Larry Bowa

September 29, 1982 vs. Chicago Cubs
Brian Giles (2B) to Rusty Staub (1B)
Batter: Keith Moreland

June 6, 1989 at Chicago Cubs
Dave Magadan (1B) to Kevin Elster (SS)
Batter: Vance Law

August 5, 1998 vs. San Francisco Giants
John Olerud (1B) to Rey Ordoñez (SS) to John Olerud (1B) to Todd Pratt (C)
Batter: J.T. Snow

May 17, 2002 at San Diego Padres
Edgardo Alfonzo (3B) to Roberto Alomar (2B) to Mo Vaughn (1B).
Batter: Wiki Gonzalez

May 19, 2010 at Washington Nationals
Angel Pagan (CF) to Henry Blanco (C) to Jose Reyes (SS) to Ike Davis (1B)
Batter: Cristian Guzman

August 24, 2014 at Los Angeles Dodgers
Eric Campbell (3B) to Daniel Murphy (2B) to Lucas Duda (1B) to Travis d’Arnaud (C)
Batter: Matt Kemp

Join Mets fans around the world who are receiving our newsletter and get exclusive content, videos, giveaways and more. Thank you for supporting @MetsRewind.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Add comment


National League baseball in New York was redefined on March 6, 1961 when the New York Metropolitan Baseball Club Inc. formally received a certificate of membership from leave president Warren Giles.

Of the 30 Major League Baseball clubs today, the case could be made that no other team has a more compelling franchise history than the New York Mets. MetsRewind is designed for that purpose: To share team history in a distinct and entertaining format. We hope you — the baseball fan — enjoy the content. We encourage you to share your memories.

Latest Posts