Kiner, Johnson, Stengel inducted into MetsRewind HOF

2021 Hall of Fame Class
Mets Rewind

Ralph Kiner, Davey Johnson and Casey Stengel have been inducted into the MetsRewind Hall of Fame. Kiner received more than 50% of the vote, followed by Johnson (44%) and Stengel (37.4%) to lead the class of 2021 voting.

This year’s inductees is the first class that did not include a former New York Mets player. Kiner served as one of the original Mets broadcasters, Johnson managed the major league team from 1984-1990 and Stengel was the first Mets manager in franchise history (1962-1965).

The Class of 2021 is the fourth class to be inducted. Kiner, Johnson and Stengel join previous inductees Tom SeaverDavid WrightGil HodgesMike PiazzaJerry Koosman, Keith Hernandez, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, Rusty Staub, Gary CarterEd Kranepool, Bob Murphy and Tug McGraw in the Mets Rewind Hall of Fame.

Kiner, a member of the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, played 10 major league seasons (1946-1955) with the Pittsburgh Pirates, Chicago Cubs and Cleveland Indians. He appeared in six All-Star Games as a player. Kiner was a career .279 hitter with 369 career home runs and 1,105 RBI. He led the National League in home runs the first seven seasons of his major league career, including 54 in 1949.

After spending one season in the broadcast booth for the Chicago White Sox in 1961, Kiner joined the original Mets broadcast team alongside veteran radio/television personalities Bob Murphy and Lindsey Nelson. His postgame show, “Kiner’s Korner,” is a significant part of Mets franchise history. Kiner continued broadcasting for 53 seasons.

Murphy is the first non-player or manager who has been voted into the Mets Rewind Hall of Fame. Murphy is one of the original broadcasters. He broadcast New York Mets baseball from 1962-2003. Murphy was elected to Hall of Fame in 1994 when his colleagues recognized him with the prestigious Ford Frick Award for broadcasting. After he passed away in August 2004 from lung cancer, New York Times writer and author Richard Sandomir wrote, “Murphy was as much an original Met as Al Jackson, Jay Hook or Don Zimmer, and he lasted longer with the team than any player, manager or owner.”

Johnson’s playing and managerial career are remarkable. His 13-year tenure were dominated between Baltimore and Atlanta. As a player and manager, Johnson is a two-time World Series champion, a three-time Gold Glove winner, four-time All Star and two time manager of the year winner. Johnson is the winningest manager in franchise history. From 1984-1990 he compiling a 595–417 record (.588 winning percentage), including the Mets last World Series title in 1986.

Stengel, who ranked third in the Class of 2021 voting, is a legendary figure — not only for his tenure with the Mets — but his incredible playing career and long, successful tenure as manager of the New York Yankees (1949-1960), where he won seven World Series titles including five straight from 1949-1953.

Stengel could not replicate the success when he arrived in Queens, compiling a 175-404 record. Age and limited talent minimized Stengel’s success as Mets manager, however, he is renowned for his skills to generate interest in the franchise.

The remaining players, managers and personnel on the ballot who received votes included:

  • Joan Payson (31%)
  • Frank Cashen (25%)
  • William A. Shea (22%)
  • Jerry Grote (22%)
  • Ron Darling (20%)
  • Carlos Beltran (13%)
  • Dave Kingman (10%)
  • Bobby Valentine (8%)
  • Al Leiter (6%)




Hall of Fame Voting FAQ

Mets Rewind has created the first and only Mets Hall of Fame of its kind. This exclusive online Hall of Fame will allow team fans (and baseball fans) decide which Mets players and personnel should be recognized for their contribution(s) to team history.

Since the Mets Rewind Hall of Fame is being created more than one-half century into the franchise existence, we are going to jump start the process in a unique way. The first ballot will have no names. What, you say? That’s right, no names. We are going to select the first player/manager/coach/owner, etc. through a write-in ballot.

Here’s how it will work: Select your top five choices in order of importance and submit your ballot. Each player from your ballot will be rated with one, two or three points. For example, if you submit:

1. Tom Seaver (5 points)
2. Joan Payson (4 points)
3. Gil Hodges (3 points)
4. Casey Stengel (2 points)
5. Mike Piazza (1 point)

Seaver would receive five points, Payson four, Hodges three, etc. So, remember, your first choice = five points, second choice = four points, etc. List your choices in order of importance to you.

The Mets Rewind Hall of Fame voting is currently closed. The Class of 2022 ballot will be announced in the fall.

Join Mets fans around the world who are receiving our newsletter and get exclusive content, videos, giveaways and more. Thank you for supporting @MetsRewind.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
Mets Rewind
National League baseball in New York was redefined on March 6, 1961 when the New York Metropolitan Baseball Club Inc. formally received a certificate of membership from leave president Warren Giles. Of the 30 Major League Baseball clubs today, the case could be made that no other team has a more compelling franchise history than the New York Mets. From Casey Stengel to Yogi Berra, Marv Throneberry to Tom Seaver, Willie Mays, Tug McGraw, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, Keith Hernandez, Bobby Valentine, Pedro Martinez and Matt Harvey, the Mets are loaded with character(s). Then there are the Amazin’ seasons — 1962, 1969, 1973, 1986, 2000, 2006-2008 and 2015 — full of miracles, joy, hope and heartbreak. Mets Rewind is designed for that purpose: To share team history in a distinct and entertaining format. We hope you — the baseball fan — enjoy the content. We encourage you to share your memories.
In Socials:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.