A History Lesson: One-Hitters


Since 1962, New York Mets pitchers have thrown 39 one-hitters (30 complete games, nine combined) in franchise history, including one in the postseason (2000, Bobby J. Jones).

Al Jackson threw the first one-hitter in franchise history on June 22, 1962 at The Polo Grounds. The only hit Jackson allowed was a first-inning single by Joey Amalfitano. After the first inning blip Jackson retired 21 straight Houston batters over the next seven innings. The Mets beat the Houston Colt .45s, 2-0.

Tom Seaver holds the Mets franchise record for the most one-hitters: five (1969-1972, 1977). The most memorable of his five near no-hitters was on July 9, 1969 when Seaver came within two outs of a perfect game against the Chicago Cubs. Utility outfielder Jimmy Qualls snapped the no-hitter with a single. 

“Tom (Seaver) always called that his ‘Imperfect Game’,” said Mets catcher Jerry Grote.

R.A. Dickey (2010 and twice in 2012) and David Cone (1988 and twice in 1991) have both throw three one-hitters with the Mets and Gary Gentry, Steve Trachsel, Jon Matlack and Tom Glavine each pitched two one-hitters, some combined with a reliever.

Jacob deGrom is the only current, and most recent, Mets pitcher to fire a one-hitter. deGrom held the Philadelphia Phillies to one hit on July 17, 2016 at Citizens Bank Park.

Bobby J. Jones also pitched a one-hitter for the Mets in Game 4 of the National League Division Series against the San Francisco Giants. Jeff Kent recorded the only hit for the Giants, a fifth inning double. The Mets won the game, 4-0, and the series.

According to the Mets franchise record books, the team has been one-hit 41 times. The last time was May 18, 2019 when Jeff McNeil doubled off Miami Marlins starter Pablo Lopez in the first inning.

Join Mets fans around the world who are receiving our newsletter and get exclusive content, videos, giveaways and more. Thank you for supporting @MetsRewind.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
Mets Rewind
National League baseball in New York was redefined on March 6, 1961 when the New York Metropolitan Baseball Club Inc. formally received a certificate of membership from leave president Warren Giles. Of the 30 Major League Baseball clubs today, the case could be made that no other team has a more compelling franchise history than the New York Mets. From Casey Stengel to Yogi Berra, Marv Throneberry to Tom Seaver, Willie Mays, Tug McGraw, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, Keith Hernandez, Bobby Valentine, Pedro Martinez and Matt Harvey, the Mets are loaded with character(s). Then there are the Amazin’ seasons — 1962, 1969, 1973, 1986, 2000, 2006-2008 and 2015 — full of miracles, joy, hope and heartbreak. Mets Rewind is designed for that purpose: To share team history in a distinct and entertaining format. We hope you — the baseball fan — enjoy the content. We encourage you to share your memories.
In Socials:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.