Kranepool, Murphy, McGraw voted into MetsRewind Hall of Fame

2020 Hall of Fame Class
Mets Rewind

New York Mets fans have voted Ed Kranepool, Bob Murphy and Tug McGraw in to the MetsRewind Hall of Fame. Kranepool received 39.8% of the vote, followed by Murphy (31.7%) and McGraw (28.8%). According to the Mets Rewind voting process, the top three vote-getters would be inducted as part of the Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

The third class of inductees joins Tom SeaverDavid WrightGil HodgesMike PiazzaJerry Koosman, Keith Hernandez, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, Rusty Staub and Gary Carter in the Mets Rewind Hall of Fame.

Kranepool, who spent his entire 18-year professional career as a member of the New York Mets, was the top vote-getter, receiving 39.8% of the fan vote. Kranepool, a member of the original 1962 Mets team, was part of the 1969 World Series championship team and 1973 National League champions. He holds the franchise records for games played (1,853) and pinch hits (90). He also ranks in the Top 10 In hits, runs, RBI and total bases.

Murphy is the first non-player or manager who has been voted into the Mets Rewind Hall of Fame. Murphy is one of the original broadcasters. He broadcast New York Mets baseball from 1962-2003. Murphy was elected to Hall of Fame in 1994 when his colleagues recognized him with the prestigious Ford Frick Award for broadcasting. After he passed away in August 2004 from lung cancer, New York Times writer and author Richard Sandomir wrote, “Murphy was as much an original Met as Al Jackson, Jay Hook or Don Zimmer, and he lasted longer with the team than any player, manager or owner.”

McGraw is an iconic figure in Mets history. He made his major league debut with the Mets in 1965 at age 20. After three seasons, McGraw missed the entire 1968 season to serve his country in Viet Nam.

He returned in 1969 to pitch in 42 games, mostly in relief, and recording a 9-3 record with a 2.24 ERA as the Mets went on to win the World Series. He moved to the bullpen in the 70s and posted an ERA under two in both the 1971 and 1972 seasons.

But it was 1973 that solidified McGraw’s name in Mets history when McGraw first uttered the rally cry, “Ya’ Gotta Believe!” to lead the Mets on a remarkable second-half run, a division title and a league championship over the Cincinnati Reds.

Ralph Kiner (27.2%) and Edgardo Alfonzo (25.3%) rounded out the top five, but fell short of the Class 0f 2020. The remaining players, managers and personnel on the ballot who received votes included:

  • Davey Johnson (24.8%)
  • Joan Payson (18.4%)
  • Jerry Grote (17.9%)
  • Casey Stengel (17.7%)
  • Ron Darling (17.0%)
  • William A. Shea (13.0%)
  • Lindsey Nelson (11.8%)
  • Carlos Beltran (7.6%)
  • Dave Kingman (6.9%)
  • Jose Reyes (4.6%)
  • Bobby Valentine (4%)
  • Al Leiter (3.4%)



Hall of Fame Voting FAQ

Mets Rewind has created the first and only Mets Hall of Fame of its kind. This exclusive online Hall of Fame will allow team fans (and baseball fans) decide which Mets players and personnel should be recognized for their contribution(s) to team history.

Since the Mets Rewind Hall of Fame is being created more than one-half century into the franchise existence, we are going to jump start the process in a unique way. The first ballot will have no names. What, you say? That’s right, no names. We are going to select the first player/manager/coach/owner, etc. through a write-in ballot.

Here’s how it will work: Select your top five choices in order of importance and submit your ballot. Each player from your ballot will be rated with one, two or three points. For example, if you submit:

1. Tom Seaver (5 points)
2. Joan Payson (4 points)
3. Gil Hodges (3 points)
4. Casey Stengel (2 points)
5. Mike Piazza (1 point)

Seaver would receive five points, Payson four, Hodges three, etc. So, remember, your first choice = five points, second choice = four points, etc. List your choices in order of importance to you.

Each ballot received will be added the total between now and May 31, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. The top five players/coaches/personnel with the most points will earn  induction in the Mets Rewind Hall of Fame.

Once the first group of inductees is announced, Mets Rewind will use the first write-in ballot to add 10 pre-selected candidates to the list for the second group. As stated earlier, in the effort to jump start the process, Mets Rewind will continue with a monthly ballot from June-August 2019 and again from September-November 2019. By the end of this period, Mets Rewind will have 15 members in the online Hall of Fame. At that time, the induction process will be implemented annually.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join Mets fans around the world who are receiving our newsletter and be the first to access exclusive content, videos, contests and more.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
Mets Rewind
National League baseball in New York was redefined on March 6, 1961 when the New York Metropolitan Baseball Club Inc. formally received a certificate of membership from leave president Warren Giles. Of the 30 Major League Baseball clubs today, the case could be made that no other team has a more compelling franchise history than the New York Mets. From Casey Stengel to Yogi Berra, Marv Throneberry to Tom Seaver, Willie Mays, Tug McGraw, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, Keith Hernandez, Bobby Valentine, Pedro Martinez and Matt Harvey, the Mets are loaded with character(s). Then there are the Amazin’ seasons — 1962, 1969, 1973, 1986, 2000, 2006-2008 and 2015 — full of miracles, joy, hope and heartbreak. Mets Rewind is designed for that purpose: To share team history in a distinct and entertaining format. We hope you — the baseball fan — enjoy the content. We encourage you to share your memories.
In Socials:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.