October 17, 1961

Payson Buys a Baseball Franchise
New York is awarded a National League franchise when Mrs. Joan Whitney Payson, and partners M. Donald Grant and G. Herbert Walker, are selected as new owners.

October 4, 1975

Charles Payson assumes control
After Joan Payson passes away (72), her husband Charles Shipman Payson took over control of the club.

December 6, 1975

de Roulet named president
Lorinda de Roulet is named president of the New York Mets, succeeding her mother, Joan Payson.

January 1, 1978

de Roulet named Chairman of the Board
de Roulet was named Chairman of the Board of the Mets. She served until the club was sold in January, 1980.

January 24, 1980

Doubleday & Co. purchases controlling interest of Mets
Ownership of the Mets changed hands for the first time in franchise history when Nelson Doubleday (Doubleday & Co. Inc.) purchased controlling interest in the team along with Fred Wilpon (Sterling Equities Inc.) for $21.1 million.

November 14, 1986

Doubleday, Wilpon buy Mets from Doubleday & Co.
Nelson Doubleday and Fred Wilpon purchase the franchise from Doubleday and Company, Inc.

August 23, 2002

Wilpon, Sterling Equities buy out Doubleday
Fred Wilpon and his Sterling Equities Inc. acquire Nelson Doubleday’s interest in the team.

September 14, 2020

Mets sold to Cohen pending MLB approval
The New York Mets announced the franchise has been sold to billionaire Steve Cohen, pending Major League Baseball approval.

November 6, 2020

Cohen buys Mets for $2.475 billion
The sale of the New York Mets became official on this date when Steve Cohen assumed ownership of the franchise, ending the Wilpon era in Queens.
Franchise Facts