5 Subway Series We’ll Never Forget

The New York Mets and New York Yankees celebrate a new chapter of the annual Subway Series tonight at Yankee Stadium in The Bronx.

Since Dave Mlicki’s memorable first game the Mets and Yankees have played 118 regular season games. The Yankees have won 69 and the Mets have won 49 regular season meetings (the Yankees also won the 2000 World Series, 4-1).

Before the Subway Series, the only time the Mets and Yankees played head-to-head was the Mayor’s Trophy Game, a one-game exhibition. The Mets and Yankees played each other for the first time on June 20, 1963. In the first-ever Mayor’s Trophy Game, played in Yankee Stadium before 52,430, Tim Harkness’ two-run single keyed a five-run third inning to highlight a 6-2 victory over the Yankees.

The 1978 Mayor’s Trophy Game had a controversial twist after Graig Nettles’ infamous attempt to throw the game. According to Sparky Lyle’s The Bronx Zoo, Ron Hodges hit a ground ball to Nettles at third, which the Yankees third baseman threw over Chris Chambliss’ head at first. The Yankees would eventually win the game, 4-3, when Fran Healy dropped a squeeze bunt scoring Jim Spencer.

The last game was played in 1983, a 4-1 Yankees win, giving bragging rights. The Yankees won 10 of the 18 Mayor’s Trophy Game’s.

The Mets-Yankees rivalry was renewed in 1997 as the Subway Series. Here are the five regular season Subway Series games we won’t forget:


June 16, 1997
New York Mets – 6
New York Yankees – 0
Game Story


July 10, 1999
New York Mets – 9
New York Yankees – 8


June 15, 2002
New York Mets – 8
New York Yankees – 0


May 19, 2006
New York Mets – 7
New York Yankees – 6


June 12, 2009
New York Yankees – 9
New York Mets – 8

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join Mets fans around the world who are receiving our newsletter and be the first to access exclusive content, videos, contests and more.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
Mets Rewind
National League baseball in New York was redefined on March 6, 1961 when the New York Metropolitan Baseball Club Inc. formally received a certificate of membership from leave president Warren Giles. Of the 30 Major League Baseball clubs today, the case could be made that no other team has a more compelling franchise history than the New York Mets. From Casey Stengel to Yogi Berra, Marv Throneberry to Tom Seaver, Willie Mays, Tug McGraw, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, Keith Hernandez, Bobby Valentine, Pedro Martinez and Matt Harvey, the Mets are loaded with character(s). Then there are the Amazin’ seasons — 1962, 1969, 1973, 1986, 2000, 2006-2008 and 2015 — full of miracles, joy, hope and heartbreak. Mets Rewind is designed for that purpose: To share team history in a distinct and entertaining format. We hope you — the baseball fan — enjoy the content. We encourage you to share your memories.
In Socials:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.