Mets Draft History

One glance at the New York Mets No. 1 draft selections reveals a history of good, bad and ugly decision-making.

The Mets first-ever draft pick was pitcher Les Rohr, the second overall pick in the 1965 draft. Rohr’s major league career was short-lived. He made his MLB debut on September 19, 1967 against the Los Angeles Dodgers, pitching six innings, allowing three runs and recording his first win. Rohr made six appearances over three years before he retired after the 1969 season due to injuries. He was just 24 years old.

The Mets had the No. 1 overall pick in the 1966 amateur draft and made the ill-fated decision of choosing catcher Steve Chilcott, who never played a major league game. The Philadelphia Athletics chose Reggie Jackson as the No. 2 pick. He only went on to play 21 seasons in the majors including 14 All-Star Game appearances, two Silver Slugger Awards, 11 postseason appearances and, eventually, was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1993.

Then, there are those that leave you shaking your head: Ike Davis, Mike Pelfrey, Lastings Milledge, Aaron Heilman and Gregg Jefferies.

The June draft also produced some of the most popular players in franchise history including Jon Matlack (1967), Lee Mazzilli (1973), Wally Bakcman (1977), Hubie Brooks (1978), Draryl Strawberry (1980), Dwight Gooden (1982), Matt Harvey (2010) and Michael Conforto (2014).

Below is the year-by-year list of the Mets No. 1 selections:

2021: Kumar Rocker
2020: Peter Crow-Armstrong
2019: Brett Baty
2018: Jarred Kelenic
2017: David Peterson
2016: Justin Dunn
2016: Anthony Kay
2014: Michael Conforto
2013: Dominic Smith
2012: Gavin Cecchini
2011: Brandon Nimmo
2010: Matt Harvey
2008: Ike Davis
2008: Reese Havens
2005: Michael Pelfrey
2004: Philip Humber
2003: Lastings Milledge
2002: Scott Kazmir
2001: Aaron Heilman
2000: Billy Traber
1998: Jason Tyner
1997: Geoff Goetz
1996: Robert Stratton
1995: Ryan Jaroncyk
1994: Terrence Long
1994: Paul Wilson
1993: Kirk Presley
1992 Preston Wilson
1992: Christopher Roberts
1991: Alfred Shirley
1990: Jeromy Burnitz
1989: Alan Zinter
1988: Dave Proctor
1987: Chris Donnels
1986: Lee May
1985: Gregg Jefferies
1984: Shawn Abner
1983: Eddie Williams
1983: Stan Jefferson
1982: Dwight Gooden
1981: Terry Blocker
1980: Darryl Strawberry
1980: Billy Beane
1980: John Gibbons
1979: Tim Leary
1978: Hubie Brooks
1977: Wally Backman
1976: Tom Thurberg
1975: Butch Benton
1974: Cliff Speck
1973: Lee Mazzilli
1972: Richard Bengston
1971: Rich Puig
1970: George Ambrow
1969: Randy Sterling
1968: Tim Foli
1967: Jon Matlack
1966: Steve Chilcott
1965: Les Rohr

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join Mets fans around the world who are receiving our newsletter and be the first to access exclusive content, videos, contests and more.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
Mets Rewind
National League baseball in New York was redefined on March 6, 1961 when the New York Metropolitan Baseball Club Inc. formally received a certificate of membership from leave president Warren Giles. Of the 30 Major League Baseball clubs today, the case could be made that no other team has a more compelling franchise history than the New York Mets. From Casey Stengel to Yogi Berra, Marv Throneberry to Tom Seaver, Willie Mays, Tug McGraw, Darryl Strawberry, Dwight Gooden, Keith Hernandez, Bobby Valentine, Pedro Martinez and Matt Harvey, the Mets are loaded with character(s). Then there are the Amazin’ seasons — 1962, 1969, 1973, 1986, 2000, 2006-2008 and 2015 — full of miracles, joy, hope and heartbreak. Mets Rewind is designed for that purpose: To share team history in a distinct and entertaining format. We hope you — the baseball fan — enjoy the content. We encourage you to share your memories.
In Socials:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.