From Ashburn to Conforto, the Mets all-stars through history

Since their inception in 1962, the New York Mets have sent 115 players to the annual All-Star Game (managers not included). In addition, Gil Hodges (1970), Yogi Berra (1974), Davey Johnson (1987), Bobby Valentine (2001) and Terry Collins (2016) also managed the National League team. Collins was also on the coaching staff for the 2012 and 2013 NL All-Star teams.

Tom Seaver holds the franchise record for most seasons on the All-Star roster with eight. He is followed by Darryl Strawberry (7), Mike Piazza (7), David Wright (7), Carlos Beltran (5), Dwight Gooden (4), Jose Reyes (4), Gary Carter (4) and John Stearns (3). But it’s Piazza who holds the record for most All-Star starts with six (1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2004) followed David Wright who currently has four All-Star game starts (2006, 2007, 2009 and 2013).

The Mets also hosted two All-Star Games, one at Shea Stadium (1964) and one at Citi Field (2013).

Below is the complete list of Mets All-Stars by year:

1962: Richie Ashburn
1963: Duke Snider
1964: Ron Hunt

1965: Ed Kranepool
1966: Ron Hunt
1967: Tom Seaver
1968: Jerry Grote, Jerry Koosman and Tom Seaver
1970: Bud Harrelson, Tom Seaver and Gil Hodges (Manager)
1971: Bud Harrelson and Tom Seaver
1972: Willie Mays, Tug McGraw and Tom Seaver
1973: Willie Mays and Tom Seaver
1974: Jon Matlack, Jerry Grote and Yogi Berra (Manager)
1975: Jon Matlack and Tom Seaver
1976: Dave Kingman, Jon Matlack and Tom Seaver
1977: John Stearns
1978: Pat Zachry
1979: Lee Mazzilli and John Stearns
1980: John Stearns
1981: Joel Youngblood
1982: John Stearns
1983: Jesse Orosco
1984: Dwight Gooden, Keith Hernandez, Jesse Orosco and Darryl Strawberry

1985: Gary Carter, Ron Darling, Dwight Gooden and Darryl Strawberry
1986: Gary Carter, Sid Fernandez, Dwight Gooden, Keith Hernandez, Darryl Strawberry
1987: Gary Carter, Sid Fernandez, Keith Hernandez, Darryl Strawberry and Davey Johnson (Manager)
1988: Gary Carter, David Cone, Dwight Gooden and Darryl Strawberry
1989: Howard Johnson, Darryl Strawberry*
1990: John Franco, Darryl Strawberry and Frank Viola
1991: Howard Johnson and Frank Viola
1992: David Cone
1993: Bobby Bonilla
1994: Bret Saberhagen
1995: Bobby Bonilla
1996: Todd Hundley, Lance Johnson
1997: Todd Hundley, Bobby Jones
1998: Mike Piazza, Rick Reed
1999: Mike Piazza
2000: Edgardo Alfonzo, Al Leiter and Mike Piazza
2001: Mike Piazza, Rick Reed and Bobby Valentine (Manager)
2002: Mike Piazza
2003: Armando Benitez
2004: Tom Glavine, Mike Piazza
2005: Carlos Beltrán, Pedro Martinez and Mike Piazza

2006: Carlos Beltrán, Tom Glavine, Paul Lo Duca, Pedro Martinez, José Reyes* and David Wright
2007: Carlos Beltrán, José Reyes, Billy Wagner and David Wright
2008: Billy Wagner and David Wright
2009: Carlos Beltrán, Francisco Rodriguez, Johan Santana and David Wright
2010: José Reyes* and David Wright
2011: Carlos Beltrán and José Reyes*
2012: R.A. Dickey, David Wright and Terry Collins (Coach)
2013: Matt Harvey, David Wright and Terry Collins (Coach)
2014: Daniel Murphy
2015: Jacob deGrom
2016: Yoenis Céspedes*, Bartolo Colon, Jeurys Familia, Noah Syndergaard* and Terry Collins (Manager)
2017: Michael Conforto

* Injured/Did not play
Bold = starter

Join our Mets Rewind mailing list for special offers, exclusive content and more.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.

Please note: I reserve the right to delete comments that are offensive or off-topic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *